Statement from Bishop Oscar Cantú on his appointment to the Diocese of Las Cruces, N.M.

In this Year of Faith, the Holy Father, Pope Benedict XVI, has appointed me bishop of the Diocese of Las Cruces, thus accepting the resignation of Bishop Ricardo Ramirez, CSB, first bishop of Las Cruces.
First, let me say how deeply humbling this appointment is for me. I am humbled that the Holy Father would appoint me to lead a beautiful diocese in a state that I am not terribly familiar with. There is a deep sense of “being sent” — sent, as the apostles were by Christ, to announce the Good News of the Gospel to the four corners of the earth. There is a call here to reconnect with the original mission of the church — to announce the Good News of Jesus Christ!
Obviously, you have already heard the Good News of the Gospel. I do not pretend to bring a new gospel or new message. “Jesus Christ is the same, yesterday, today, and forever” (Heb 13:8). Rather, in this Year of Faith, we are all called to listen with fresh ears, and an open heart, to the Gospel message anew. We are called to fall in love with Jesus Christ, again. God’s message is ever ancient, but always new.
I am humbled, as well, to be following a great man in the person of Bishop Ricardo Ramirez. He is someone I have looked up to since I first knew of him, many years ago. Some 30 years ago when he was announced as the first bishop of Las Cruces, you surely read his biography and saw that he was born in the town of Bay City, Texas. And maybe you asked, “What good can come out of Bay City, Texas?” You have discovered that, as your pastor, he has been a man of deep love for Christ and a deep love for the people he shepherds. I am humbled to follow such a man.
Four and half years ago, I was ordained a bishop and have served as auxiliary bishop in San Antonio, assisting two extraordinary mentors, Archbishop José Gomez and Archbishop Gustavo García-Siller. I have formed many friends in San Antonio and will miss them deeply. I will have opportunities over the next several weeks to express my gratitude to them for their love and friendship, as we have worked together over the past years to build up the Kingdom of God. However, with this new appointment I am reminded that the mission is not exclusively my own; rather, I participate in a mission that extends far beyond me, the mission of the Church, which is to proclaim and build up the Kingdom of God.
I come to Las Cruces with no particular agenda other than to humbly and joyfully proclaim the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I look forward to forming new friends and working together to build up the Kingdom. I ask for your prayers; you will certainly be in my daily prayers.

Como hijo de inmigrantes de Monterrey, México, vengo humilde y alegre por ser enviado por el Santo Padre, Benedicto XVI, a Las Cruces, como su obispo. Prometo rezar por ustedes cada día, y caminar con ustedes en humildad y respeto, como su pastor. Estoy en ansias por conocerlos, para alabar juntos a nuestro Dios, y caminar juntos en justicia a la luz del evangelio. Juntos acerquémonos más, especialmente en este Año de Fe, a Jesucristo, nuestro amor.

Leave a comment